On Juggling Food and Work

I had a bit of a crazy schedule these past three days. I cleaned at one of my church’s branches during Vacation Bible School. It was very rewarding and I would do it again in a second. I truly love everything about my job. The thing is, when you’re working around ten hours a day, beginning at 6 am, it’s hard to fit in food.

I know that sounds like a silly problem. I’ve got a well paying job that I love deeply and I’m whining about fitting in food? Cry me a freaking river! I get how that sounds and I don’t mean to complain about nothing. I’m writing this to tell you that when you’re working a very physically demanding job, you need calories.

To the church’s credit, there was always food available that they offered me. They were very kind. I just have to have a very special diet because I know what my body needs to sustain itself after losing one hundred pounds. Don’t worry, I brought food every day, but I didn’t plan as carefully as I should have.

I did go home every night and made sure to eat. I also made sure to eat a big breakfast every morning. I don’t want to make it seem like I starved myself, because I most certainly did not, as I stated before, but I should have done some more planning beforehand. Like, cooked more ahead of time and brought it with me.

I want to be fair and say that I’ve never worked a schedule like this before. So, I went into a little blind. I’m going to be working another schedule similar to this week after next. I’m excited because I love my work! I’m going to make sure to be better prepared, though. I’m going to sit down and plan out everything.

I’m writing this to let you know that food equals fuel. You need your energy. I’ll let you know how it goes in two weeks!

